1239 Pennsylvania Avenue, SE  |  Washington DC 20003
Phone 202-517-1477  |  Fax 202-517-0673  |  info@wtulocal6.net

Enroll now for WTU Fall P.D.s

Deadline: September 7.

Pres. Elizabeth Davis

For a better DCPS, join the WTU

Dear DCPS Educator,

The 2018-19 school year is an exciting one to be a member of the Washington Teachers’ Union. DCPS teachers and other personnel who are members have a real voice in the union and can be an integral part of an already fantastic union that can only get stronger and more effective with your input. There is power in numbers.

As a member, you have a say in every aspect of the Union and can participate in helping to develop and implement programs and policies. This includes working with the union and DCPS administration to effectively challenge the systemic barriers to excellence that now plague our school system, such as inequitable school funding. Additionally, our dysfunctional teacher evaluation system is punitive and emphasizes teaching to the test. It is not focused on giving students the kind of instruction and assistance that they need to excel.

Events Calendar

Fri. Aug. 17 Educational Equity discussion | 8:30-10:30

American University Spring Valley Building

Mon. Aug. 20 Students’ First Day of School

Tues. Aug. 21 New Hire Benefits Enrollment Session | 4:30PM

DCPS

Sat. Aug. 25 Interviewing DC candidates | 10AM-2PM

WTU Headquarters

Tues. Aug. 28 Chancellor selection community meeting | 6PM-8PM

Savoy ES 2400 Shannon Pl. SE

Wed. Aug. 29 WTU PD Instructors | 5pm

WTU Headquarters

Thurs. Aug. 30 National Board Certification committee | 5PM

WTU Headquarters

Mon. Sept. 3 Labor Day – WTU office closed

Wed. Sept. 5 COPE meeting | 5:30PM

WTU Headquarters

Wed. Sept. 5 New Hire Benefits Enrollment | 4:30PM

DCPS

Sat. Sept. 8 WTU Executive Board Meeting | 10AM

WTU Headquarters

Tues. Sept. 11, WTU General Membership Meeting | 4:30PM

McKinley HS 151 T St NE, Washington, DC 20002

Tues. Sept. 11 Community meeting on Chancellor Selection | 6PM-8PM

Brookland MS 1150 Michigan Ave NE

Wed. Sept. 12 – 16 Congressional Black Caucus Legislative Conference

DC Convention Center

Fri. Sept. 14 Math Literacy Alliance Press Conf. | 9am

Wilson Building, 1350 Penna. Ave. NW

Sat. Sept. 15 WTU Union Leadership Institute

TBA

Sat. Sept. 15 IMPACT workshop

TBA